Intentionally

Parenting

I like being intentional.  That’s not to say I have it perfected, but the idea of doing things on purpose appeals to me.  Transformation is more likely to take place when there is an active parent making the most of time and oportunities that come up.  When I was growing up, we would always tell my mom “I didn’t mean to do _______ (fill in the blank)” and my mom’s response would always be: “then you have to mean not to.”  She is the one who really taught me about making the moment count by only filling your days with things that are of value.  If you are not making an active choice to glorify God and draw closer to Him, then you are moving further away.  Neither the world or relationships in this world stand still.

Now that I’m a mom and I’m getting older, I have been finding that I can only handle so much activity before I hit a wall.  My kids are the same way.  They may not be able to put the overwhelmed feeling into a verbal discription but I can tell.  Usually, being overwhelmed/over stimulated by activity, is shown through their choice of negative behavior.  When I see this, I will usually have a sense from the Holy Spirit to reevaluate how I have been prioritizing our days.  This is hard for me because I like people and I like making people happy.  Knowing this though, I have to be intentional when I schedule things.  If I have a limited number of activities that they can handle, then they better count for our family’s development and spiritual growth.  I never want my kids to feel like we never stopped going long enough to bond.  I never want to put a greater priority on outside relationships so that I miss creating opportunities for my children to know God.  Good and Godly activities that are created by good people can take away from our ability to truly KNOW and HAVE RELATIONSHIP with GOD if we have too much of a good thing.  Please hear me as I am not saying to eliminate everything, but to just be careful as you schedule.

God calls us to make the most of every opportunity because the days are short.  The days are short because our kids grow up and leave, but they are also short because Satan is fighting to destroy us before Christ puts an end to him by returning.  Ephesians 5:15-17 says, “Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”

There are some things to watch for as you try to impliment a more intentional way of life in your home:

Do you have required commitments that are scheduled for every single day?

Is there always noise in your home that may be preventing you from hearing the Lord speak to you?

Is your kids behavior out of control…do they wake up in the morning still tired?

Do you have time for regular family devotions and meals at the table all together?

It is not our job as parents to create spiritual change and or transformation in the life of our child, but it is our job to create an environment where the Lord is able to change and transform hearts (Michelle Anthony, Spiritual Parenting).

Leave a Reply

