A Room for a Little Man

I have a cute little boy.  However, I was not looking for a “cute” little boy room.  I had greater expectations.  I wanted quality, and originality.  I wanted a unique feel and longevity.  I liked the green paint we had chosen, but it was falling visually flat.  It needed some depth…enter, the FREE paint from Benjamin Moore that I got simply for telling Pottery Barn that I had moved.  It was not a lot, but enough for….stripes!  Navy blue it was, actually Gentleman’s Grey it was (but it looks dark blue).  I’m so excited with the outcome!

His closet.  The mirror was a garage sale find at my friend Betsey’s house…we decided to do a garage sale together but basically just traded our stuff and maybe sold a little!  The book shelves were Ikea spice racks that I painted.  The toy bin was a clearance item at Fred Meyer.

Bedding is Pottery Barn but the 2 Euro Shams were Ikea.  The brown curtains were clearance at Fred Meyer.  The print says “Rawr means I Love You in Dinosour.” I made it, but I first saw it on Pinterest.

The art for this wall has been pieced together from all over!  I made the alphabet sign.  The airplane is actually a metal one from Home Goods that is hung with fishing wire.  I got the dog picture from Ikea and the small dog picture was a card that I framed.  The verse, from Jones Design Company, is one of my favorite finds for this room.  It is the verse that we put on the beams for this room, before our drywall was finished.  When I found it, I was so excited.  It is the verse we pray over him everyday.  If you have a chance to check out Jones Design Company, she has an amazing blog and shop!  His desk and chair were garage sale!  The top opens up just like the one on Charolette’s Web :-).

When I finish it, I will be back with the wall art for the striped wall!  It includes a huge map and molding.  I’m excited to get it finished.

Leave a Reply

