Devotion

de·vo·tion {noun}

1.

profound dedication; consecration.
2.

earnest attachment to a cause, person, etc.
3.

an assignment or appropriation to any purpose, cause, etc.
4.

Often, devotions. Ecclesiastical. religious observance or worship; a form of prayer or worship for special use.
Origin: 1150–1200; Middle English devocioun (< Anglo-French ) < Late Latin dēvōtiōn- (stem of dēvōtiō), equivalent to Latin dēvōt(us) (see devote) + -iōn- -ion

Related forms

pre·de·vo·tion, noun
su·per·de·vo·tion, noun
Synonyms 2. zeal, ardor. See love.
{Copied from Dictionary.com}
This is what is filling my headspace and penetrating my heart right now.  Tonight, as I was praying over my daughter before bed, I prayed that her desire for the Lord would abound more and more.  My heart was convicted over my own state of desire, or sometimes, lack of.  I am in the middle of a parenting study where the teacher remindes us that we cannot teach what we ourselves do not posses.  Am I possesing profound dedication, earnest attachement, zeal, ardor…because those are the commitments I would like to see in my own life as I pass them on to the generation we are raising.  Life becomes full and feelings waver.  Without dedication and realistic steps that become habit, our humanity will get in the way.  On the days where we do not feel like drawing towards the Lord, we must seek Him out of attachment and dedication.  He will honor that and renew our strength.  He will quench the thirst, even when we do not realize we are dehydrated.  He will bind our wandering hearts to Himself.  I do not know about you, but my heart is frequently wandering.  My heart needs some tight binding.
Colossians 1:9-14
 9 For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, 10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, 12 and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. 13 For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.
Tonight, I am asking the Lord for a renewed devotion to pursuing my relationship with Him.  I yearn for a love for Him; to be captivated by His beauty.  I have confidence that He will meet me when I seek Him.
I pray you are seeking the Lord too.
One thought on “Devotion

  1. Thank you for the encouragement. I’m relating in so many ways. It brings joy to my heart to see other moms arming themselves for battle and fighting against the complacent selfishness that loves to invade our homes. Keep on fighting, my fellow soldier.

Leave a Reply

