My Son

Things I think you should know now that you’re 3…

1.  If you let others hear your words first and your dinasour growls later…you’re probably going to make a better first impression.

2.  You will not always look adorable in collard shirts and jammie shorts.  Rock the look while you can.  You will need to start wearing outfits that match soon enough (but we can probably save that for preschool).

3.  When you held my hand today, my heart melted but you left my hand feeling pretty sticky.  You need to learn to always wash your hands really well.  Girls think clean hands are hot; it’s not just a mom thing.

4.  Please never ever forget the excitement you experienced when you asked Jesus into your heart…I know I won’t. 

5.  Daddy is teaching you to be respectful towards women and authority.  I know you sit on the time-out steps a lot, but if you learn the lesson now…you will go far.

6.  On that note, please know I can see you move up the steps during time out.  Especially when you giggle.

7.  Your new line is that you start every sentance with “little boys…” and then tell me what you want.  Although it’s not always accurate, you are learning to communicate.  Keep learning.  It’s a good tool to have in that belt of yours.

8.  You ran outside to catch Daddy yesterday morning because we forgot to pray before he left for work.  Please keep doing that even when you’re big.  Always pray with your family.

9.  You made sure your sister had her snack today when you got yours.  It is your way of starting to “take care of her”  and look out for others around you.  I’m proud of you.  Even though you’re younger, I want you to always take care of her.  You protect the ones you love no matter what; God will provide the courage and strength. 

10.  You are learning to wipe the seat after you go to the bathroom.  Seriously.  You are going to be one well-trained catch when you grow up and leave home.  Count on it!

11.  Your desire to open the door for everyone is admirable.  However, you may want to avoid screaming “it’s my turn” and pushing everybody out of the way to get to do it first.  Gentlemen do it quietly.

12.  Keep eating oatmeal like it’s going out of style.  It’s good for you to really like a food that is cheap and good for your cholesterol.  That will also serve you well when you move out…or in a few years when we cannot afford to keep feeding you at the rate you like to eat!

13.  You are super excited to go to VBS and Cubbies this year.  We pray you are always excited to learn about God and that you participate in every opportunity to do so.  Cheerful participation is a good thing to learn.

14.  Thank you for understanding my rule of “picking your nose is a bathroom activity” and obeying it.  You will stand out from your peers positively amongst adults if you remember it.

15.  You continually teach me.  I hope you always teach with your actions for God’s glory.  “Command and teach these things. Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching.” 1 Timothy 4:11-13. 

I love you Aaron Joshua.  You are God’s little boy but I am so glad He put you in our family.

Love, Mommy

4 thoughts on “My Son

  1. Ok, this is hilarious AND precious. My husband and I are sitting here laughing out loud. Girls think clean hands are hot. It’s not just a mom thing. 🙂 You are a great writer and I love this space of yours! Thanks so much for journeying with me over at Sacred Mundane–It’s a blessing to know you!

    • Thank you so much! We are learning a lot from our buddy…and of course, our little girl! I actually started reading your blog because we have some mutual friends and they would link on Facebook. Love how that is with the family of God! I too, am a pastor’s wife. My family prays for your family. We are homeschooling next year, so I have been tucking away good tips!

      Praying many blessings over your family and ministry!

  2. Pingback: Online relationships, help or hindrance?

Leave a Reply

