I am sure.

It’s rest time right now.  Not much resting is taking place, but just the same, I’m not letting go of the designated time.  As I type, one child is “going on vacation” in her room and the other one is literally bowling!  Oh well.  They have not come out!

Just like rest time that used to be for sleeping and is currently being used to vacation and bowl, our lives do not always go as planned.  I would venture to say that most of the time they do not go as planned.  For better or worse.

So, today I ask.  What are you going to do about it?

Are you going to throw your hands up in the air and give up?  Will you call your bestie and have a crying rant?  Will you let bitterness sink deep down and change the way you act?

All of the options I just listed are normal.  They are responses that are very normal when one is being dictated by fleshly impulses.  But let’s look at it differently.  Let’s challenge ourselves and each other to put off our old selves and our old impulses.

We’re going to take every thought captive (2 Corinthians 10:5) .  We’re going to commit ourselves to Him who judges righteously (1 Peter 2:22-24).  We’re going to live in the Spirit (Ephesians 4:21-23).

I’m writing this blog post because I am in that moment right now.  The moment of deciding how I will respond.  How I will go forth from the situations that just took place.  I am writing a post so I can have accountability in Spirit living and not fleshly impulses.  I am listening to worship music really loudly and committing myself to the Lord.  I do not have it down.  I do not respond perfectly every time.  But today(right now), I am actively choosing…as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

Having a godly response internally and externally to any given situation, most likely, will not change your environment immediately.  It will, however, change your perspective and allow God to rule in your heart (Colossians 3:14-16).  God is on His throne and in control whether we acknowledge and respond or not.  But submitting ourselves to Him, will change how we go forth.  How others see the situation.  How others see the God we claim to worship.  We are comforted.

In 2 Corinthians 1:3-5, we find some insight.  Shining some godly light on whatever situation you may find yourself in. Today. As you read this and decide how to respond.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.” 

We are comforted SO THAT…we may be a comfort.  In this passage, our situations are all covered by the phrase “any affliction.”  You have no excuse.  No “have a bad attitude because…” hall-pass.  We are comforted by the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort.  His comfort covers all and the following responsibility covers all.  But don’t worry…the Father knows our comforting skills fall short.  He knows that in our own strength, no one will be covered!  That is why we have a responsibility to comfort WITH what God just used to comfort us.  That makes me so excited.  I do not have to conjure up some false, flowery joy…God not only comforts me, He reveals how to comfort others.  Only Him.  Only through Him and only by Him.  He is in all things and through Him all things hold together (Colossians 1:16-17).  Never do we go it alone.

Our life may not be stable.  But He is never changing.  God is the same yesterday. Today. Forever.  Now that is stability personified!  That is the Father of mercies (Lamentations 3:21-24) and the God of all comfort in action!

My mom was listening to a sermon and shared this insight with me: “Stability is the ability when you’re disturbed or disappointed to quickly return to a calm stable state. It’s the strength to stand or endure any situation and remain calm. One of the best gifts we can give to others and ourselves is stability which comes through making a choice to trust God.”

I pray this resonates with you and teaches you something today.  Not by me, but by God using this moment in your life.  Be sure of what you hope for, Sisters.  Be sure.

Leave a Reply

