Family of God…

I have to admit, my little world felt a bit bigger tonight because one of my favorite bloggers actually read my blog.  I know that may sound like a throw-back to jr high, but it goes much deeper than that.  I think it taps into what God wanted it to be like in His family.

In Titus 2:3 it says, “Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good.”  And, It’s not just speaking about women who are much older than you…it could be a woman who is just older in her faith or season of life…

Hebrews 10:24 explains that we are to “consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,” when we are a part of the family of God.

And, Proverbs 31:26 says a woman of God “speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”

In the family, we are supposed to be in relationship.  We are designed to encourage one another.  We are made to crave reflections of our Heavenly Father.  As a woman of God, I am supposed to learn from some and teach others.  As I am refreshed and taught by sisters, I am really being refreshed and taught by our Father because He is the One who is being displayed.  He is the One who is working in my life…He just chooses to use people. Other sisters…because He’s a wonderful God and He knew.  He understood we would need each other as we walked this earth before being with Him.

When you choose to conduct yourself with grace and encourage one another, you will be set apart from the distructive course women, so often, aimlessly choose. There may be a woman who is a sister in Christ or someone you see at the grocery store, but she will be drawn to you to recieve the refreshment her soul longs for.  Not because you are the answer, but because you radiate the Father and share wisdom from Him.  Your friends and the people you meet will leave their time with you changed and with a desire to spend more time with Jesus.

If you would like to have a genuine reminder of the Heavenly Father, I encourage you to read Kari Patterson’s blog Sacred Mundane. She has greatly encouraged me and I am thankful for the reminder tonight of how God builds His family.

2 thoughts on “Family of God…

  1. Well now you made me have TEARS streaming down my cheeks! Goodness sake! 😉 Thank you, Anna. I know the feeling too. I am not exaggerating when I say that the day I received a comment from Ann Voskamp I bawled and made a commitment right then and there to never quit writing striving to point others to Jesus. 🙂 YOU are doing a beautiful job, and you are just so stinkin’ funny too! I’m telling you, that bit about your son was priceless. Pray about a guest post soemtime, ok? 🙂 Blessings!

Leave a Reply

