Reflections of HIS NAME.

I hear God’s name quite a bit throughout my day.  I speak His name even more.  I pray through the power of His name and His name brings comfort to my soul.

I understand that we live in a society that is pressing God out as much as possible.  They wrongly believe that if they slander Him, disown Him, or deny Him that He will go away.  This breaks my heart.  The kinder, albeit misguided, remarks state that “He is a gentleman who will step aside.”

What breaks my heart even more, though, is how His children drop His name so loosely.  In doing so, we dishonor Him.  We misrepresent Him and grieve His heart.  Phrases like “OMG” or “Oh lord” “Oh god” roll off the tongues He created without a thought.  We think if we spell it differently in our Facebook status or say it to a non-Christian friend, it will be okay.  We’ve adjusted our phrases to “Oh my gosh” or “geez” to be less offensive.

Earthly relationships are so quick to disolve at the first hint of disrespect or lies.  Gossip, slander, or misuse of one’s name can even bring felony charges in our legal system.  But His children. His creation somehow has deemed it their right to address the God of the Universe any way they want to.  We would never decide this in regards to a judge or a police officer that is speaking to us.  Yet in our sinfulness, an Almighty God, has become a catch-phrase.  A figure of speech when a situation is cool or horrifying.  Approaching His throne, because of grace, has become a license to equalize His greatness to our humanness.

How would our culture change or be transformed, if, all the believers (who are so quick to condemn the God-less society) actually stepped up and obeyed God like we’ve said we do.  If we represented Him accurately and pleased Him in all respects?  If we were reflections of His name.

A name identifies us.  It is tied to people’s opinions of us, conjuring up emotions for good or bad.  People remember our character and associate it with our name.  I see this more as I am reading through the Bible in this new year.  There are entire chapters devoted to names and geniology.  God calls people by their name and He declares generational blessings and curses by a person’s name.  He knows His children, often even going to the great length of changing their name to give them a fresh start as His child.

The same is true with GOD.  He created the world.  He set before Himself people whom He loved.  Then, He did something amazing.  He declared His name.  He began a relationship with people where our obedience pleases Him and our sin breaks His heart.

As a child of God, His name is precious to me.

Exodus 34:5-6 says “5 Then the Lord came down in the cloud and stood there with him and proclaimed his name, the Lord. 6 And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The Lord, the Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness”

Exodus 20:7 says 7 “You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.”

Leviticus 22:31-33 says, 31 “Keep my commands and follow them. I am the Lord. 32 Do not profane my holy name, for I must be acknowledged as holy by the Israelites. I am the Lord, who made you holy 33 and who brought you out of Egypt to be your God. I am the Lord.”

2 Chronicles 7:14 says, “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

As a child of God, His name is a promise to me.

Psalm 9:10 says, Those who know your name trust in you,  for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.

Psalm 20:7 says, Some trust in chariots and some in horses,  but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.

Psalm 91:14 says, “Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;  I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

Proverbs 18:10 says, “The name of the Lord is a fortified tower;  the righteous run to it and are safe.

Sisters, as we grow together in the knowledge of God, let us be known in part for being careful with our tongue.  As for me, I do not want to use God’s name carelessly or in any manner that does not convey His absolute awesomeness and complete holiness.  “Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.” (Ecclesiastes 5:2)

Watch your mouth and encourage one another to have fruitful speech!

Colossians 1:9-14

9 For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, 12 and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified youto share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. 13 For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

Leave a Reply

