When you find yourself in a quiet place

Josh and Anna 236

I do not normally post on Sundays, but I have found myself in a quiet place this morning.  Mostly quiet, as I am being serenaded by Daniel Tiger’s theme song…I know most of you are probably craving quiet right now, but mine has come with a sick child.  The quiet I am experiencing has come through canceled plans, quiet chores, and middle of the night laundry.

Because we found ourselves in Psalm 23 on Friday, the passage was still floating around in my head.  The Lord kept bringing verses 1 & 2 to my mind:

“The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters…”

In my current surroundings, these verses make me picture a mom with her child who is in desperate need.  The mom quietly tends to the child’s needs and makes sure every detail is covered.  The sick child may not even be fully aware of their needs or how they are taken care of.  Even when the child wants to get up and play, the mom wisely provides a (surprisingly) comfortable spot and gives relief of any symptoms.

When the Lord provides for my needs, I am often unaware.  Sure, there are things I see firsthand and I am so thankful.  Then, there are the ways He is my Shepherd when I am the sick child.  He takes care of things before they can even become a problem, and I lack nothing.  In being my Shepherd, the Lord also takes care of me when I make poor choices.  He lovingly calls to repentance.

He takes the desert I find myself in, and provides a green pasture.  He shows me where the water is…

Growing up, my momma knew how to make the perfect “bed on the couch,” when we did not feel well.  She would set up our favorite show (or read books) and a little table for our drink and crackers.  She would choose her chores accordingly, as to be in the same room with us.  Momma anticipated the needs we would have.  She made our time of sickness into a time where we could experience her loving faithfulness.  When I was talking to her about my little girl being sick, Momma reminded me that Sophie would always remember the times I sat beside her.  The times when she was in need and I was there.  Times of provision, even when the ways might be surprising or unexpected to her.

It is the same way with the Lord…

When we are in relationship with the Lord, we are given opportunities to see His faithfulness.  His provision.  His loving care of us, so we lack nothing.  It may not always come how we expect, but His provision will always be a green pasture and quiet waters in the midst of our dry desert.  He anticipates our needs and knows the very best way to provide for them.

“I love the Lord, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.  Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.” (Psalm 116:1-2)

If you are in a time where quietness has been given to you (maybe you did not expect it) or you are in a time where you are seeing the faithfulness of the Lord firsthand, I encourage you to proclaim His greatness.  Review in your heart and to those around you, the ways that you have seen your needs provided.  Talk about your green pastures and quiet waters.  Acknowledge the ways you love the Lord.

This attitude of thankfulness will encourage you and will train you to be aware of all that the Lord is doing.  Recount the love of the Lord from generation to generation.  By His hand, you will lack nothing.

One thought on “When you find yourself in a quiet place

Leave a Reply

