In the Heat of the Day…

I remember how excited I was to finish the kids’ school year.  I would have a break from schedules and filled days and other people’s rules.  I would have time to rest and recharge.  I would be able to do everything with our family.  And memories.  Yes, there would be a lot of memory making!

But, somehow, I am sitting to write a post and it’s now August.  School supplies line store shelves and the 2 months I just lived seem like a blur.  My last entry was in April and life feels like it has been a complete whirlwind.

When time is racing by and life is had, it is easy to feel trapped.  To keep running this race at a speed which cannot be maintained. That I was never trained for.  A speed that tempts me to run beyond what God is setting.

God has a different standard for my days.

I feel a beckoning.  A call to intentionally withdraw from the world’s race and be alone with God.  This hymn has been filling my thoughts the past few days amongst curriculum orders and new ministry calendars:

In The Garden Hymn

I come to the garden alone While the dew is still on the roses

And the voice I hear falling on my ear

The Son of God discloses.

And He walks with me,

and He talks with me,

And He tells me I am His own;

And the joy we share as we tarry there,

None other has ever known.

He speaks, and the sound of His voice,

Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,

And the melody that He gave to me

Within my heart is ringing.

I’d stay in the garden with Him

Though the night around me be falling,

But He bids me go; through the voice of woe

His voice to me is calling.

The heat of the day symbolizes my rush.  My own anxious thoughts and things I want to pursue or be a part of.   My own frustrations or desires can set me on a course.  Cause me to overfill and over-plan.

Josh and I sleep with a fan at night.  The slow hum and the coolness it brings helps to clear my mind and calm my spirit.  In a much greater sense, this is what time with the Lord does.  The fan is an image, but time with God is the only thing that can really calm me.  Just as God desired to walk with Adam and Eve in the cool of day, He wants to draw me away so that I can be calm in His presence.

As summer ends and fall begins, I want to be known as one who takes time to tarry in God’s presence.  I want to hear His voice calling.  As He “bids me through the voice of woe,” I want to respond to Him.  To obey Him.

This is my prayer as God calms me with His coolness into this fall…

“Teach us to number our days, so we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

{Image from Google Public Images}

One thought on “In the Heat of the Day…

  1. Everyone needs those times to escape to a quiet place and listen for God. I’ve debated about asking for a day alone with just me and God for my birthday every year!

Leave a Reply

