Not Yet!!

Untitled-1

This week I have been working through and trying to practice a lesson that God has been preparing (and probably been trying to teach me) for a long time. We can pretend this is why I haven’t posted in a while!

Something occurred to me…this lesson is just like when I am trying to get my kids ready to go somewhere. As the mom, I know where we are going. I know why we are going. And, I know how we are going to get there.

They, the kids, do not. Sometimes I will explain parts to them. Slowly. In a way they can receive it. Not all at once. Sometimes, they might actually feel like I am withholding.

The process of preparing and leaving the familiarity of our home might hurt a little.

On days that are going smoothly, they trust me and allow themselves to be excited. Other days, with the same circumstances, they resist me. They behave with bitterness. Even if they go through the motions, their hearts are angry and disrespectful. Though nothing surrounding them has changed, their hearts show me how they are processing the lesson. How they are heeding wisdom or choosing foolishness.

This mind picture challenged me to question how I was getting ready. Am I tying knots of bitterness in my heart while I tie my shoelaces? Am I shoving fisted hands through the arm-holes of my coat?

How is my attitude towards my Heavenly Father, when He tells me “we are going somewhere.” Do I trust Him? Do I obey with the details He gives me, without expecting all the information…information that I would not even be mature enough to handle?

You want to know another thing I realized, Sister? You cannot open your Bible while your hands are fisted. It’s very hard to be on your knees in prayer and submission when you are stomping your feet in defiance.

God shows us another picture of this lesson in Exodus 13 and 14. He had just delivered the Israelites from slavery and was showing them how He was going to lead them.

Verses 17-22 of chapter 13.
When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was shorter. For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.” So God led the people around by the desert road toward the Red Sea. The Israelites went up out of Egypt ready for battle. Moses took the bones of Joseph with him because Joseph had made the Israelites swear an oath. He had said, “God will surely come to your aid, and then you must carry my bones up with you from this place.” After leaving Sukkoth they camped at Etham on the edge of the desert. By day the Lord went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night. Neither the pillar of cloud by day nor the pillar of fire by night left its place in front of the people.”

The Lord led them on a longer path, because it was for their good. Then, when they reached their first battle, THEY WERE READY. The Lord prepared them, stood beside them, and led them. For their good.

Leading into chapter 14, the Lord moved again. In a way that humans may not have understood, but that the Lord had planned all along. He sent Pharaoh after them! What?! The Israelites were probably so confused! Did the Lord not just deliver them?! He did. And as He prepared them, stood beside them, and led them…it was for a purpose. A purpose that would reveal His glory in the biggest miracle those Israelites had ever seen!

Sometimes we do not understand but we can trust. Our circumstances may not change…they may even temporarily get more difficult. But we can trust. Instead of our bitterness screaming “not yet,” our trust will quietly whisper “I will obey.”

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:6-8

I think I am ready to say, “Okay. I trust you Lord.” And you know what? Peace is way more enjoyable than bitterness, even when my circumstances are the same. Even when I do not understand. Even when my path is the long way.

I want to see His glory.

{Image from Google Images}

Leave a Reply

