Who’s Their Daddy?

If you walked into our church on any given Sunday morning, it is likely you would find me in one of our nurseries.  While it’s true that my children have outgrown those rooms by a few years, I still find this to be one of my main ministries.  Ever since I was in middle school and took the special weekend-long class to work in my church’s nursery, I have loved it!

Now, there is something to be said for the fact that these babies and toddlers are not actually my children.  I can be fun and entertaining for a couple of hours, once a week, and send them home.  If they cry the entire time because they’re fighting a nap, I can handle it.  I was not the one who was up all night with them the last 2 weeks as they were teething again!   My threshold is different because, with these children, I am not performing the daily tasks that can leave you exhausted when you are in the trenches of mothering small ones.

My point being this:  What if you were reminded that the precious children you call “yours” do not actually belong to you?  What if the next time they were driving you utterly to your breaking point, you look up and picture your heavenly Father standing there saying “Oh sweet child.  I know you’re tired and frustrated.  I know you are failing with your own strength.  Why are you trying to parent my babies?  I have all you need, if you just ask.”

Our children have been entrusted to us.  God the Father has entrusted the care and nurturing of our child to us while we are on this earth.  They ultimately belong to Him and He is absolutely committed to their well-being. 

I believe we are all slightly different mothers when we know that others are watching!  What if your family lived in a glass house where everyone around could see exactly how you parent?  I’m sure you all thought of instances, just now, where you would be embarrassed if this was true!  I know I did.

Now think for a minute about what the heavenly Father thinks when He sees the way you are parenting His children.

God entrusted His children to us, but we were never intended to parent them on our own strength or standards.  He always intended us to give them back to Him, every single day.  We were always supposed to know how much we needed Him.

In the time of Pharaoh’s reign, in the book of Exodus, there was one such momma that we can learn from.  I believe that God included these few verses about her, so we would see some things about the way she parented.  She is described as the Levite woman.  But, she bore a son whom God would use to change the world.  The following, are just a few lessons we can learn from Moses’ mother (Exodus 2:1-11):

She was a woman of bravery.  When she gave birth to her baby, he was already marked for death.  Pharaoh had commanded that each baby boy be immediately cast into the Nile to drown.  Rather than allow outside influences to affect her, she trusted God and hid her baby.  When he was too old to hide, she put him in the Nile.  In a basket.  With his sister keeping watch.  That is a mother drawing on God’s strength to make her brave!

#1.  Mommas who trust God make brave choices.

She was a wise woman.  She did not pray and panic.  Moses’ mother trusted God and then used her God-given brain to plan something wise.

#2.  Mommas who trust God make wise choices. 

She was a woman who taught the children whom God had entrusted her with.  Not only did Moses grow up to fear the Lord and walk with him, Miriam (his sister) did as well.  These children were taught this from a very young age by watching their mother’s actions.  Despite her name never being given, we see her legacy throughout scripture.

#3.  Mommas who trust God pass it to their children.

Realizing my children actually belong to God rather than myself, does not remove the joy of raising them.  It just removes the fear and panic so my joy can be made full.  Anything done in God’s strength is the fullness of joy.

Leave a Reply

