Deliverance Because of Gethsemane

I have a sticker on the back of my license that may someday become life giving.  Not the sticker exactly, but rather what it represents.  An invitation for God to use a very broken situation for something beautiful.  Life out of death, one of the classic juxtapositions of the Christian faith.  Someone must face death for another to live.  And while I would not hope for something to happen, I would like it to have meaning beyond myself, if it ever does.

The process of organ donation absolutely amazes me.  It is the ultimate gift.  In one family’s shattering grief, they offer up a gift to someone else.  Usually a stranger.  Offering up the very opportunity that was taken from their loved one only moments earlier.  A person only receives an organ when there is no other way to sustain life.  Miracles are born of the greatest sacrifices.

For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die— but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

(Romans 5:8-9)

Because He was willing to die, I have life.  Jesus came, lived, died, and rose again so we could live without the death-sentence of sin slowing killing us.  My deliverance begun when Jesus was praying in the Garden of Gethsemane.  He asked for the cup to be taken, but submitted, as the Father continued with His plan (John 14).  Jesus drank the cup.  The sacrifice was made.  The payment for my sin was satisfied.  In the ultimate organ donation, I was given a new heart.  A new opportunity at life, when I was once awaiting my death.

If you ask anyone who has been given an organ, they will tell you that they have been given life.  They have a new drive.  A new purpose.  Each new day is a gift.

My deliverance was not offered so I could simply continue breathing.  Jesus came, lived, died, and rose again to give us eternal life.  Abundant life.

God the Father willed Jesus’ sacrifice so I can live abundantly.  His stripes have brought my healing.  No longer do I have to accept the death sentence of sickness, grief, pain, and brokenness that this fallen world offers me.  Jesus bore all of that on the cross and declared that it was finished.  Only a fool would ask for the poisoned organ back after receiving a healthy one.

One of the most effective tools that the evil one has, are Christians who are living a powerless life.  When we accept salvation and nothing more, it is as if an organ recipient has the surgery but continues to live like they are sick.  When Jesus returned to Heaven, He sent us another Comforter.  He sent the Holy Spirit to be inside of us.  As believers, we have the power of God transforming us from the inside out.  Shame on us for living like we are still sick.  It is wasting the work finished on the cross.

 Failing to live in the power of the Spirit, is like receiving a new organ and still living on a deathbed.

Before going back to Heaven, Jesus instructs the disciples that He is going back to the Father, but those who keep His commands will keep doing His work.  “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father.  Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it” (John 14:12-14).

My deliverance may have begun because of the events in Gethsemane, but I have life beyond breathing because He rose.  Jesus went to the Father but gave instructions for powerful choices. 

Jesus did not say anything about treading lightly.  He did not hand out any weak assignments.  He commanded greater things.  Greater lives in the power of the Holy Spirit.  Greater requests before the Father.  While we remain on this earth, Jesus is at the right hand of the Father, living and continually interceding for us.

When I live abundantly, my life and my requests in Jesus’ name, show the world His power.  Abundant life changes everything.  Go therefore and live a new life.

Leave a Reply

